Skip to content

It is on like Donkey Kong…

January 6, 2013

red wolves

 

Hey Y’all,

 

Looking forward to a big day, yes it is finally January 9th and you all know what happens tonight at 9PM EST. That is right, the Kent State Golden Flashes, twenty-fifth ranked team in the nation battle the Red Wolves of Arkansas State tonight for the right to be called Champion of the Go-Daddy Bowl. Now, I am not going to predict a victory for the Red Wolves, but I would not be surprised if ASU wins 37-24.

 

But I would like to ask a favor of all of you. If you are flipping through the channels tonight and you come across the game on Big Boy ESPN, channel 206 Direct TV and you see the Red Wolves are winning, throw out a “Howl Yea!” for me and the team. If you find them behind, throw out a “Give em’ Howl, Red!” Thanks for the support!

 

Y’all know I don’t normally write about writing. I would not even attempt to talk about something that I am not an expert about but I ran across a writer who is making it happen. Meet Lance Charnes. He is a Retired Air Force Intelligence Officer. I had the great pleasure of working with these professionals during my time as a pilot and please understand that not everyone is capable of doing the job of an Intelligence Analyst.  It takes a special combination of smarts, analytical skill, forecasting, predicting and the unique ability to brief groups that range from equally clever and qualified Officers to performing a dog and pony show of knucklehead politicians.

 

briefing

 

Essential to the job of Intel Officer is the ability to remember what information is able to be spoken at different times to different people. The information ranges from Classified, Secret, Top Secret and above Top Secret. Military members are not cleared to know everything, and the Intel Officer must know who he is talking too, what clearance they hold, and mentally keep the information segregated. Keep this in mind, if the President say something he shouldn’t in a press conference, it is called a gaff. If an Intel Officer says something he shouldn’t in a briefing it is called leaking classified information and depending on what is said, they could be charged with treason. This is big deal stuff and men like Lance have the unique ability to handle it. Men like myself have the unique ability to mess it up.

 

Doha-12-cover-192x300

 

Lance is a writer among other things and his first book called Doha 12. This is directly from his website:

 

“Jake Eldar’s and Miriam Schaffer’s names may kill them.

 

Jake manages a bookstore in Brooklyn. Miriam is a secretary at a Philadelphia law firm. Both grew up in Israel and emigrated to build new lives in America. Neither knows the other exists…until the Israeli intelligence agency Mossad uses their identities in an operation to assassinate a high-ranking Hezbollah commander in Doha, Qatar.

 

Now Hezbollah plans to kill them both.

 

Jake, Miriam and ten other innocents in five countries – the Doha 12 – awake to find their identities stolen and their lives caught between Mossad and Hezbollah in an international game of murder and reprisal. Jake stumbles upon Hezbollah’s plot but can’t convince the police it exists. When his wife is murdered in a botched hit meant for him, Jake and Miriam try desperately to outrun and outfight their pursuers while shielding Jake’s young daughter from the killers on their trail.

 

Hezbollah, however, has a fallback plan: hundreds of people will die if Jake and Miriam survive.”

 

I have not read Doha 12 yet. I am trying to finish up my stuff and when I do; his book is at the top of my list of things to read. Without reading it, I assure you that I know he has covered all of his bases.

 

Consider, the attention to detail that he has put into his next book, ‘South.’ If you have some time check out how much work he has put into what he thinks the nation might look like in 2039.

 

South

 

http://www.wombatgroup.com/south/

 

The level of detail he put into his work. I have read about building character backgrounds and building the world our characters will live in. I approach it like an amateur, making up a name and some general physical characteristics. Lance approaches it like a professional. If I want to be a professional writer, this is the level of commitment I need to strive towards. Great Job Lance!

 

Finally, I promised a review of Tom’s Tiny Kitchen Pimento Cheese. Full Disclosure: I am not a fan of pimento cheese but I must say that this pimento cheese was okay and the pimento cheese with chipotle flavor was better.

 

pimento

 

Where does okay rate? I am glad you asked. There are things that I will never put higher than this list.

 

Faith, Family, Friends, Peace, Love, Honor, Respect to name a few.

 

Of things I like, these things rate higher than Tom’s Tiny Kitchen Pimento Cheese. An Arkansas State victory tonight, an Arkansas State loss in the BCS Championship Game next year, any Dallas Cowboy playoff game, flying an airplane, seeing the sales of my tenth novel fail to make the New York Times Best Seller list, sushi, and getting tired of visiting Hawaii in the winter.

 

Things that rate lower than Tom’s Tiny Kitchen Pimento Cheese. A Kent State victory tonight, having to do another ASU coaching search next year, seeing the Arkansas Razorbacks playing in the BCS Championship Bowl game next year, living under the rule of Communism and having to eat oatmeal and granola bars.

 

Have a Howl of a Day!

From → life

4 Comments
  1. Thanks for highlighting this author. Sounds like a great writer.

    As for the football, um… go team go?

  2. Thanks Jules,

    The cheer is actually…

    Go State Go…Lets Go

    Give em Howl Red

    Give em Howl Blacks

    Arkansas State Red Wolves

    Go State Go…Lets Go

  3. Wow! Lance’s resume is quite impressive. I would be interested in reading his novel. When I’m feeling twitchy, and I need to satisfy my ADHD, I reach for the espionage thriller.

    Things that rate higher than Pimento Cheese – Burn Notice, ribeye steak done medium rare, Guy Fieri, a good espionage thriller

    Things I rate lower than Pimento Cheese – Bones, ribeye steak done well, Anhony Bourdain, Facebook

    • Lance seems to be the real deal. Like I stated in the post, I have known several people with this background and every one of them was impressive.

      I agree with your pimento cheese list. Love Burn Notice, that Michael is sharp.

Leave a Reply

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

chartwell west

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

Proceeding Skeptically

Rambling about the Big Questions, life, and other stuff

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

The Race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. -2 Timothy 4:7

Omnibus Writing

The Future of the Arts...

Disagreements I Have With Christianity

Seeking A Healthy Critique And Renovation Of Religion And Culture

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Erica Lyn Hart

Christian Writer/Blogger

My Heart's Melodies

These words are the lyrics to my many heart songs.

