Skip to content

not my first quarantine…

March 30, 2020
Hey Y’all,
 
Sitting here on the couch watching another show in a series of unending series…At least I am with my family and the only threat is gaining a extra five pounds on top of the five pounds I gained last week. The other threat is a tiny, microscopic virus that is turning our world into four by four walls.
 
It reminds me of that time in 2003, when me and few friends went over there to do a little thing called Iraq. The first 20 or so days were just like what we all are doing now. Quarantine and being sequestered in a camp located on a landfill, surrounded with barbed that points in a different direction from prison.
 
Here are some words I wrote in 2013 about that experience.
 
“We arrived in Tabuk, Saudi Arabia on 9 March 2003. Our first flight was on 29 March. So we only had about 20 days to make our home and then it was time to wait. As I sit here today, my memories of those twenty days are blurry. Not because time was moving so fast, but the opposite. Nothing was happening. I do not think I am exaggerating when I say it was the longest twenty days of my life.
 
For us, time had ceased to exist because time did not matter. We ate when we were hungry. We slept when we were tired, we pottied when we needed to potty. Days on days went by, just by sitting in a folding chair in front of the tent. We played games, like throwing gravel at water bottles. We went to Ops town, just to see what was going on. We went to the MRE station to see if anything new was going on. We went for a walk just because. At night we watched war movies and later on we dreamed about war. It was tough for a couch potato; it was torture for those with ADD.”
 
Sounds kind of like today. Stay well and avoid the rona…its dangerous out there!
 
Until next time, keep on rockin!

From → military

4 Comments
  1. I’m getting fat too. I keep baking “for the children” but somehow I’m eating lots of the treats myself!

    • Hey Doc,

      Glad your not eating the children…yet..ha ha Hope all is will and your avoiding the rona!

      • I almost ate one of them a couple weeks back but I’ve got a hold of myself now and I’m actually enjoying a low(er) carb diet and a new exercise routine.

        Sorry I took so long to respond. I didn’t see the notification. I rarely sign in here…just for a minute if I want to comment or “like” someone’s post. I sure hope all is well in your corner of the world. It’s kinda crazy out there!

        God bless you and yours!

  2. Oh I think the living conditions are a bit better this time around. 🙂 My wife downloaded a meme that states “you’re not hungry, you’re just bored. Now close the F**** door”, and hung it in the refrigerator.

Leave a comment

ProBasketballTalk | NBC Sports

NBA news, video, analysis and more

Howlraiser

Raising howl for the Sun Belt and the Arkansas State Red Wolves

Wild Blue Yonder

Serious Fun

Vern Norrgard

Agile Coach, Photographer and Video

Sing All Kinds

Old stuff, new lists, sparingly shared from Chris Herrington

Complex Distractions

Heavy-Hearted In The Midwest Since 2011

Legends of Windemere

Enjoy the Adventure

Survival Sherpa

Helping each other on the climb to self-reliance and preparedness...the Survival Sherpa way...One step at a time.

Robert Krenzel

Author of the Gideon Hawke Series of Historical Fiction novels

swshadowcouncil.wordpress.com/

Opinion, Analysis, Fandom, & Fun

Phoebe Morgan

Author and Editor

Mirror World Publishing

Independent Canadian Publisher of Escapism Fiction you can get lost in

The Awkward Soul

To an adventure that never ends and journey never forgotten

curtisbaussebooks

Mystery, Crime and a Woman

Francis Bass

Writing, Reading, Etc.

Sistership Publishing

"IF YOUR SHIP DOESN'T COME IN, SWIM OUT AND GET IT." -- Unknown

AuntieMaim.com

Littera Scripta Manet