Skip to content

Love: Is it a 4 letter word or is it all we need?

October 1, 2012

 

VS

 

Mr. John Lennon, the most famous Beatle once said all you need is LOVE. I always wonder if it can be that simple.  Do we just need love? I wonder what Mr. Lennon would say today.  I would guess his song would remain the same, all you need is Love.

Mr. James Hetfield of Metallica fame once described LOVE as a four letter word. In the song “The Day That Never Comes” he says that this love is not all you need, in fact it is not something never to be spoken. Love is a word never used in this prison.

If you are wondering who has the better description of love, read to the end and I will give my opinion.

So often, we love what we are familiar with. We love our family even when we don’t like them. We love our country, we love money, pizza, football, God or whatever else. Do we really understand love, I think not. We talk about love on a daily basis, but are we willing to practice it?

Without getting preachy, I would like to challenge all of us to practice love. Do not seek love for yourself, but give it to someone who can’t return than love. Give it to someone who can’t pay you back. I really believe that if we all do this, I know the world will be a better place.

I know it sounds sappy and many of you might think I have fallen off my rocker. But I really believe that if we are going to get this world back in the right direction, it starts with you and me. We need to influence our small part of the world in a positive direction. It starts and ends with love. Love your neighbor as yourself.  Seek an opportunity to give that love to someone who is different from you. Black/White, Democrat/Republican, Baptist/Catholic, Jew/Muslim it shouldn’t matter. Love crosses all boundaries and is spoken by all.

And the answer is: BOTH! Most people would think that John Lennon would have the right answer but if you can watch the Metallica video to the end, you will know how 1.5 million men and women would describe love today. In a country of 300 million or a world of 6.8 Billion people that is not a significant number. But to just one of those 1.5 million people and their families, it is very significant.

See for yourself:  The Beatles video is 3:50 and the Metallica video is 8:25 long.

Beatles “All You Need Is Love.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOva-VJXJJQ

Metallica “The Day That Never Comes.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRitfbhITLM

Thank you to everyone who visits and I look forward to your comments.

Faith, Hope, and Love!

 

 

 

 

From → life

8 Comments
  1. Icabu permalink

    The Day That Never Comes gets my vote. I finally had that day when almost a teen, in a safe house for wayward kids run by a giant Sioux Indian. An adult that freely gave love to people who’d never or rarely saw it. The mushy, hand-holding, love-the-world songs never made sense. Love is something you have to work at, search for, and be damn lucky to stumble across. It’s been a long, rough road, but I’ve broken the chains of apathy, hate, and indifference I started life with. I do love and will never take it for granted.

    • I agree. Yes we all need love and I am not upset with the Beatles for making sure that we all know that fact. But I cannot identify with their culture or music.

      Thank you for your service and for your growth as a human. Like you I am a work in progress.

  2. I always wondered what John Lennon would say if he were still alive today. He is one of my favorite people.

  3. I too think about things like that.

    To be honest, I have not a huge fan of the Beatles but there is no denying their influence on the world. That is what amazes me. How can four regular working class men, influence the entire world?

    I don’t know but I would love to discover the secret.

    Thank you for joining the discussion. You are welcome anytime.

  4. Egg permalink

    Love starts with the self. Why do so many people not love themselves or feel worthy of love? Come on parents, we need to build good kids that will become good adults. Loving or not, at least they’ll know how to treat other people with respect and kindness.

  5. I think it is tough to characterize humans and dangerous to talk specifics and apply those comments to generalities. However, I have to disagree with your comment. Please remember that my comments are specifically referring to citizens of the United States. I have traveled all over the world but I don’t feel that I can talk intelligently about the world’s culture.

    I think US citizens are too self-centered. We care only about what we want to care about. We love only what we love. I think that we are like that because we teach our children to be like that. Not because of an overt teaching but by the parent’s actions. The current parents learned from their parents and so on and so on.

    You are correct that teaching starts with the parents. It also is influenced by society, schools, friends and environment. But the opposite is true, it is possible to raise great kids. It takes a lot of work but it can be done.

    I would like to know what you have witnessed during all of your travels. Are their differences between cultures, nationalities and races?

    • Egg permalink

      Of course I have noticed differences but to state them would be delving into the dangerous world of generalizations. I’ll save the more interesting and specific observations for stories perhaps….

  6. Can’t wait to read all about it!

Leave a Reply

The Worlds Of Fred Rayworth

Author Fred Rayworth's Web Site

Confessions of a Gay Guy

Musings from an anonymous, and slightly intoxicated, homosexual.

A Writer at Heart

Trials and triumphs of writing, finding an agent, and publication.

Tokyo Cowboy

Random thoughts from a wannabe writer

Jay Alan

The Voice of Cleveland and Ultimate Sports Authority

Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Follow Your Yellow Brick Road

Just the 7 of Us

This is our story

Journey with Jewels

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else. -- C. S. Lewis

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Clovis Whitman

Author of Coming of Age and New Adult Fiction

