Skip to content

Can’t Wait for Saturday

December 17, 2015
832692074a54f03a2cf9297b4e9db5e8

That’s a nice looking family. Cant wait to see what happens next. photo from yahoo.

 

 

 

Hey Y’all,

 

Got a super busy end of the year so I will do my best to be brief tonight. The next could of days are committed to hard core, super intense study sessions as I have my yearly simulator training next week. I have already been skimming everything but it is time to go deep and get serious. If all goes well, I will be home Wednesday night so that I can do all of the Christmas shopping Thursday so I am well prepared for Friday morning. Following the weekend, I am back out on the road for a week of work and will return on New Year’s Eve. Another short break and I get to kick off the New Year with another week of work. Busy times for busy people but that isn’t what I want to talk about tonight.

 

377258eadfbe6af6f39fad0049eb303d

“beep…beep…beep.” Felt good to get that off my chest. photo from yahoo.

 

 

I am a super psyched, hyped-up, highly motivated, kid in a candy store who can’t wait for this weekend. Saturday is a day that has been circled on the calendar for a few months now. Most of you are probably thinking that I am talking about my Arkansas State Red Wolves and their fifth consecutive bowl appearance this time in New Orleans. Well you would be wrong. I have the DVR set up and the game will be recorded, but on Saturday night I have other plans.

 

1408139469000-redwoles

Cant wait for this either. photo from yahoo

 

 

You might be thinking that I am going to put my Dallas Cowboys in the number one spot and will be watching them on Saturday night as they host the NY Jets in a must win game for both teams. The truth is that I am actually hoping that Dallas loses and puts me out of my misery. All they accomplish by beating the Jets is get a worse draft spot. It wont get a minute of my television watching time. I might not even waste the time to watch the highlights on ESPN.

 

2242ab1f971c50d67dcf4494434d145d

I don’t care who you are. This is funny. photo from yahoo.

 

 

What I am so looking forward too, is my Christmas present to myself. I bought them about six weeks ago when they went on pre-sale. Yes, there is a movie opening this weekend and yes I have tickets. Now since I have kids and other life responsibilities, I am not one of “those people” camping out for the right to get the best seats in the theater. But I will be there on Saturday night with hundreds of thousands other crazed super fans of the greatest series of movies in the history of movies. I feel like Pee-Wee Herman after 42 No-Doze, a six pack of 5-Hour Energy and a cup of coffee.

 

a29527d7bab1d05aab126b404bb63f1753007bb8f0049a2ae0a7f1216febaa8b

photo from yahoo.

 

 

 

When I got my tickets, the girl who took my money asked if I was taking my kids.

I said “No.”

“Grand-kids?” She asked.

“No, one is for me and the other four I am going to sale on EBay.” She looked at me like I had three eyes.  “How old do you think I am?” I replied.

“You’re pretty old with the gray hair and stuff. 55-60?”

“I’m 46 you fool. I’m too young to be a grand-dad.”

“My grandma is 43.” She replied.

I pointed at her pregnant belly and said. “You mean Great Grandma.”

She didn’t laugh.

 

funny-pregnancy-statistics

I took college statistics three times. Not once did I get this chart on my final exam. photo from yahoo.

 

 

Anyway, if you are looking for me this Saturday night at 7:05 PM. I will be that guy who is face deep in a box of buttered popcorn and slurping on the large Coke, munching on the Whoppers, while watching this year’s Oscar winning movie; Alvin and the Chipmunks.

 

thK4CFJSD3

In case you missed it, this movie opens Friday. photo from yahoo.

 

 

Until next time, keep on rockin.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Rob, Thank you for the laugh this morning. I might have to use those statistics for my stats course. Have fun at the movies and enjoy your weekend. Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!

    • Karlene,

      I hope you have a great holiday season as well. Thanks for all the support that you have given me the last couple of years. Best Wishes,
      rob

      • Thank you!! And so welcome. I’m thinking supporting each other is the way life was designed.

Leave a Reply

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

chartwell west

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

Proceeding Skeptically

Rambling about the Big Questions, life, and other stuff

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

The Race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. -2 Timothy 4:7

Omnibus Writing

The Future of the Arts...

Disagreements I Have With Christianity

Seeking A Healthy Critique And Renovation Of Religion And Culture

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Erica Lyn Hart

Christian Writer/Blogger

My Heart's Melodies

These words are the lyrics to my many heart songs.

