Skip to content

My first son…

February 11, 2015
thanksgiving 12 343

As he aged, his face turned white so that he resembled a raccoon. His sister is the exact same age but she washes the gray out.

 

 

Hey Y’all,

 

I know I owe you something and I have been a little slow getting something out. There is so much to talk about from the Super Bowl to another story time. But to be honest, my motivation is severely lacking.  One of my puppies pasted away this week. Legend was named after Larry Bird and was just over 13 years old. He and his sister who is named Magic after Ervin “Magic” Johnson were a surprise gift to my future wife in the winter of 2002. I went to the local dog pound on a Monday looking for a dog. I found a great litter of seven or eight dogs that were perfect. But the problem was that I couldn’t pick one and I didn’t have a lot of time to spend with them. I left and went back two days later and there were two dogs left. I couldn’t leave one behind so I left with two.

 

Legend giving his sister a little kiss. Yes I know it is weird.

Legend giving his sister a little kiss. Yes I know it is weird.

 

I went to the store and bought all of the supplies including a couple of baby gates to limit their freedom to roam then I took them back to my house and got them set up in the kitchen.  It was a Friday evening and my wife and I had a date planned with some other friends. I was late and when I showed up she was less than pleased. We had dinner and she kept asking me why I was late. I really wanted to surprise her so I kept talking around the answer. She is so sharp and kept pressing me for a good answer so I said I had to go to the store. She asked if I had the receipt in my pocket and I showed it to her. She scanned it and focused on the baby gates. It took her mind about thirteen nano-seconds to figure it out. “You got a dog!” She said. Deflated I held up two fingers. “You got two dogs! I want to see them.” We left and went back to my house where she met her first babies.

 

I don't have any puppy pictures on this computer but when they were newborns, we could hold both in our lap at the same time.

I don’t have any puppy pictures on this computer but when they were newborns, we could hold both in our lap at the same time.

 

So the whole family is just bummed out because our little puppy son has moved on.

 

Running and happy, miss you little buddy.

Running and happy, miss you little buddy.

 

Until next time, keep on rockin.

From → life

8 Comments
  1. So sorry for your loss. Looks like he was a great dog and you gave him a great life.

  2. My heart goes out to you. A special bond. Pet lovers understand this. My first baby was a 20lb (yes, 20lb) domestic tabby. I hated cats, the wife wanted one; we got two from the shelter. I wept for days when they passed. My big boy was named Cousey (erroneous spelling for “Bob Cousy”) Fast forward to my girls wanting a dog; I resisted of course. Got one anyway. Now he’s daddy’s boy.
    If you would, here’s a peek at the relationship we have. Maybe it will make you smile a little.

    Best wishes, time heals.
    Jp

    https://jeffsmessydesk.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/lessons-in-still%E2%80%A6/

    • Fantastic Jeff. It is amazing how these animals become part of the family. Love the link.

  3. Sympathy for you. Console his sister, please.

    • Thanks Anne. She spent the day running errands with my wife and got the extra special privilege of sleeping in the “big bed” with my wife and kids. She is soaking in the love. Thank you for the warm thoughts.

  4. I’m not going to click “like” on this one. My heart goes out to you. I never knew how much dogs added to a family until just last April. I never had dogs around me for any length of time before that – but now I understand the bond. I’m very sorry to hear your news….

    • Thanks Doc,

      It is amazing the bond that can be formed between a human and a dog. I really appreciate the kind thoughts and prayers. You are the best.

  5. emmabrowning@frontier.com permalink

    I am so sorry to hear that Legend passed away. How is Magic. I know the family is heartbroken. I love you all . Emma

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

chartwell west

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

Proceeding Skeptically

Rambling about the Big Questions, life, and other stuff

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

The Race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. -2 Timothy 4:7

Omnibus Writing

The Future of the Arts...

Disagreements I Have With Christianity

Seeking A Healthy Critique And Renovation Of Religion And Culture

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Erica Lyn Hart

Christian Writer/Blogger

My Heart's Melodies

These words are the lyrics to my many heart songs.

