Skip to content

Staying Alive in year Two…Zero…One…Five

January 2, 2015
All of these people are partying like it was 2014. Photo from yahoo.

All of these people are partying like it was 2014. Photo from yahoo.

 

Hey Y’all,

 

I know I am not the first to write these words, but I can’t resist writing them here and now. Happy New Year, Profound words, I know. All is well in my little side of the planet and I hope that you are experiencing the same peace, joy and love that I enjoy. Right now, it is half-time of a good football game and it is nice to watch a clean, well-played game where I really don’t have a rooting interest. I am actually pulling for Ohio State just because it will send the television pundits into a mass hysteria if Alabama losses.

 

This is not a good place to wake up or go to sleep. photo from yahoo.

This is not a good place to wake up or go to sleep. photo from yahoo.

 

Everyone is always talking about and making New Year’s resolutions. I am not too big them because the resolution usually represents a want to change something but it doesn’t have the staying power to enact true change. I have found in my life that when I set a goal, it becomes an all-consuming mission that must be completed but if I make a resolution then it dies off a fast death and I return to my normal lazy, neutral position. But I do have an on-going, ever-lasting goal that so far I have been able to continue to obtain.

 

The person that took this picture was on the right side of the dirt. photo from yahoo.

The person that took this picture was on the right side of the dirt. photo from yahoo.

 

I always strive to wake up every morning on the right side of the dirt and the goal for the day is to go to sleep on the right side of the barbed wire. I have found that if I can wake up every morning and go to sleep a free man, then it was probably a good day. The trick is to string 365 of those days together and that makes a good ending to the previous year. I hope that we all can continue to string some good days together and make 2015 a wonderful year.

 

The person that took this picture was on the wrong side of the wire. photo from yahoo.

The person that took this picture was on the wrong side of the wire. photo from yahoo.

 

The game is back on and it seems that Nick Saban is still wishing he had recruited a quarterback. OSU is starting to pull away from Alabama. I better get back to the game.

 

This picture is really worth a 1000 words. Photo from yahoo.

This picture is really worth a 1000 words. Photo from yahoo.

 

Until next time, keep on rockin.

From → life

5 Comments
  1. Ha. I like that. On the right side of the dirt and the wire. Good stuff! Happy New Year Rob!

    • Abby,

      Happy New Year to you and your family as well. I have always been a keep it simple kind of guy. Tough to make it any simpler than this.

  2. Rob, you need to add a “like” button to your posts. This was a good, inspiring one! And funny about the football game.

    I’d never heard the phrase before, but I liked “the right side of the dirt.” I may have to steal that from you.

    Take care, and may you and yours have a prosperous new year—on the right side of the barbed wire.

    • Swifty,

      Happy New Year to you sir. Hope all is well in your world and with all the characters you’re working with now. I am afraid that I have reached the upper levels of my wordpress knowledge when I make a new post. I am not sure how to make the like button appear or how I made it disappear.

      You are free to use that phrase as you wish. It partly came from Paul S. and someone you have heard about in passing, the real life Bill Rimes. I have been thinking about Billy and might need to find an adventure for him to get into.

      I wish you all the best, pass on my regards to Jules, Big Joe, and Ericka if you see them around. I am still making plans for to introduce you guys when you are the keynote speaker at a writing conference.

  3. Great post Rob, I hope you’ll have a great year!
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse | Cat Owner

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

Chartwell West

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

