Skip to content

Catching Up….

August 22, 2014
DSC_0003

Ed and Ruth Covert. Photo from rob akers

 

 

Hey Y’all,

 

I am playing catch up today. For the first time since school ended for the summer, I have been able to concentrate on writing. I am getting things done thanks to a sore throat and a headache. I wanted to get out and conduct a veteran interview and get my haircut but I just don’t feel like it. I haven’t even put on any music today or turned on the television. My dogs are wondering what is wrong with me. I am wondering the same thing, no kids and I am still trapped at home.

 

Anyway, the silence has been nice and I have gotten a lot of writing done. Here is your promised update. I am still troubled by everything going on in the world and I really think we need more love in the world. What would it hurt it all two billion of us were happy? I will hold my breath on that to hapen, until then I am giving you two links to the past articles on Mr. Ed Covert.

 

I have known Ed for several years. I met him at a former church the family attended. I knew he was a Vietnam Veteran but I never heard his story in one setting. He served in the Army and was assigned to repair sheet metal on the helicopters. His is a great story of how even a man who didn’t carry a gun or go into the jungle but was still in danger. I hope you enjoy and let me know if the links don’t work.

 

http://www.herald-dispatch.com/news/putnam/x1177960302/Veterans-experience-in-Vietnam-leaves-lasting-impression

 

http://www.herald-dispatch.com/news/putnam/x1177961713/Veteran-came-home-with-lasting-impression-of-life-in-Vietnam

 

Until next time, keep on rockin.

From → friends, military, writing

2 Comments
  1. Hope you will be feeling better soon. Nothing like a sweep of the news to really make one feel worse, eh? It is such a mess. A mess only Christ can fix.

    Hope you were very prolific but that you will be feeling better soon!

    • Thanks Heather for the kind comment. I don’t normally watch the news often because it can be so misleading. I remember every time I returned from Iraq or Afghanistan I would watch the news intently for a week or so. Every time they had the story wrong, I do try to keep that perspective when watching events on the news. But watching a live news event as it happens has a totally different feel than when watching the nightly news cast.

      I did get a lot done and now it is time to get back to writing work. I always appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply

The Worlds Of Fred Rayworth

Author Fred Rayworth's Web Site

Confessions of a Gay Guy

Musings from an anonymous, and slightly intoxicated, homosexual.

A Writer at Heart

Trials and triumphs of writing, finding an agent, and publication.

Tokyo Cowboy

Random thoughts from a wannabe writer

Jay Alan

The Voice of Cleveland and Ultimate Sports Authority

Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Follow Your Yellow Brick Road

Just the 7 of Us

This is our story

Journey with Jewels

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else. -- C. S. Lewis

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Clovis Whitman

Author of Coming of Age and New Adult Fiction

