Skip to content

Parental Advice…

April 25, 2014
floatie 2

Im rob and I would like your vote. photo from yahoo

 

Hey Y’all,

 

Sorry that it has been so long between posts. I have been working this week, so because my sleep cycle is off kilter and the trip that I am doing this month has a short layover at the hub. My writing time is really limited especially when I choose to eat dinner, check on my fantasy baseball team (2nd place by the way), catch up on the Memphis Grizzlies NBA play-off games, and talk to all my buddies. The other night my Captain asked me if I was running for Mayor of the Indy Hub because I had to tell everyone that we passed that I would see them tomorrow.

 

I did get some writing in this week amid all the distractions. I wrote an article for The Magill Review about the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It will be up on Monday. Josh Magill scared me a little when he told me that the last article about the fat people in Huntington and the Skinny people in Boulder got over 2000 hits in a single day last week. That is a lot of people reading my 3rd grade level writing. In comparison, this site has gotten about 7,500 hits in a year and a half.  I might be swimming in the big kid pool so I should take the floaties off so no one laughs at me.

 

floatie 1

I feel much more comfortable in the kiddy pool. photo from yahoo

 

This is a story that my daughter didn’t want me to write about but since she isn’t here with me right now, I guess she can’t stop me.  Driving home from my parent’s house last week my wife and I were trying to remember all the songs we sang to the kids before we put the kids to bed. I thought I would never forget the lyrics to the songs but sure enough things change and the memories were almost over written by 757 system knowledge. It took us fifty miles to get the order right but we were able to access the correct memory chip. Later I said that I should put it on the blog so we could always have it and for some reason my daughter decided that she didn’t want me too.

 

floaties 3

This is former Pittsburg Steeler football coach, Bill Cower not my daughter. But I have seen this look before. photo from yahoo

 

So these songs are not about her, they are about my son. The only difference is the change of the name from Kylen to Natalie.  Full disclosure, my son screamed continually every night at bed time. He was so loud that we started to wear ear plugs when we laid him down. It wasn’t necessarily the best time for bonding between parent and child but we did sing to him every night even if no one could hear it.

 

“I love my Kylen, oh yes I do. I love my Kylen because he is true. When I am not with him, I am blue. Oh Kylen, Daddy loves you.”

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. You will never know dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.”

“Kylen, beautiful sweet little innocent little Kylen. You are the best, above all the rest. You are my Kylen.”

“Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to him belong, they are weak but he is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. For the Bible tells me so.”

“I love you. You love me. Were a happy family, with a great big kiss from me to you, won’t you say you love me too? I love you, you love me. We’re best friends like friends should be. With a great big kiss from me to you. Won’t you say you love me too?”

“Twinkle, twinkle little star. How I wonder what you are. Up above the world so high, like a diamond in the sky.  How I wonder what you are.”

 

floatie 4

I might not be a mother in law, but you can trust my advice. photo from yahoo

 

Now, I have some advice for all the future parents. After the last song, I should have thrown the little bundles of pain and agony in their cribs locked the door on the way out without ever looking back at their poor, pitiful eyes. NEVER, EVER LOOK BACK! If you make eye contact, they have you. Just walk away. That is the only way to find some moments of peace.  And if you can do that, you are a better Dad than I was because I could never stop myself from looking back and I was stuck for an hour holding a sleeping baby while the Monday Night Football game started. I’m a sucker.

 

I hope to be back on schedule Monday. Until then, keep on rockin.

 

 

From → life

4 Comments
  1. I sang “you are my sunshine” to my daughter almost every morning when she was little. In fact, for Easter, I bought her a little sign to hang on her wall at college next year with those very words. A reminder she is always my sunshine.

    • Julie,

      Thank you as always for the wonderful comments. I am sure that your daughter will treasure the sign.

      Do you think she will notice the tiny spy camera that is built inside it?

  2. OK, I stopped reading at 2000 hits in a single day. Kudos! That would be a personal best over her in my writing world.

    • I wish that was my site as well. I am always happy to have a single hit. When I start to think about how great I am, all I have to do to bring myself back to reality is look at the stat board. The numbers never lie.

      thanks for the comment

Leave a Reply

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

chartwell west

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

Proceeding Skeptically

Rambling about the Big Questions, life, and other stuff

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

The Race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. -2 Timothy 4:7

Omnibus Writing

The Future of the Arts...

Disagreements I Have With Christianity

Seeking A Healthy Critique And Renovation Of Religion And Culture

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Erica Lyn Hart

Christian Writer/Blogger

My Heart's Melodies

These words are the lyrics to my many heart songs.

