Skip to content

The Way Back Home….Part 3

September 16, 2013
IMG_0008 (2)

At night, the temperature dropped to a very comfortable 100 degrees. And by 9 AM it had risen to 108. But it never went higher because according to the Air Force Rules, anytime the temperature reached 109 or higher all outdoor activities had to be stopped. The official weather report tracked the temperature and it peaked at 108 from 9 Am to 9 PM. Dang that was lucky.
Photo from Deron.

 

 

 

Hey Y’all,

This is the third installment of a story about my experiences in August 2003. The first installment was about the disintegration of my crew due to forces beyond our control. The second was about how we found out that half of our Squadron was going home and how the other half would be staying behind.

The day after Timmy told us how we were going to split was probably the toughest of the war. Most of the crews flew that day. They left out for their 20 hour day not knowing what they would find when they came home. That day KK was making the decisions about who would be in which group. The Go-Home group or the Leftover Group. When a crew came back from their missions, they looked at the list. Some of the guys were excited and some were depressed. The worst part was watching your tent mates pack their bags. The guys in my tent were very respectful of Tracy, JR and I, but it was tough for them to hide their happiness that they were going home.

Out of the twelve in our tent, we were the only three to stay. Nine of the twelve guys in the tent were going home (Paul had already left on a medical flight). There was lots of packing going on. As I remember JR tried to stay out of the way while Tracy and I banded together, starting with making claims on the most precious thing the guys left behind, space. We started telling guys how we were going to take their space and put in a hot tub, a movie theater, or a dance club with a disco ball. We made jokes to keep from crying. It was a very difficult transition.

 

jerk 2

This is what I looked like as I watched the guys move out. I didn’t want them to take my most important possessions.
Photo from yahoo.

 

It was tough to call home and talk to my wife. We were married in July 02. And at this point in the marriage, we had crossed the point where we were apart more than together.(By the way, we didn’t cross back to more time together until 07 or 08) I had missed her birthday the year prior because of a trip that was extended, and now I was set to miss it again along with our first anniversary. It was tough, but all things being equal we were still together. Two of the guys in my tent were going home to sign divorce paperwork. A guy in the tent next door was going home to meet his daughter for the first time; she was born in June while he listened in on a telephone. Even the best situation was tough. It is hard to go to war; it is doubly hard on the family that stays behind.

Two new guys moved into my tent when they joined my crew. Tracy was still my Loadmaster, JR was still the Navigator. Steve “Money Man” C. was my co-pilot and Richie L. was my Flight Engineer. I was very excited to have those guys in the tent and on the crew. Our first big decision was how to set up the tent. We agreed to have about a foot more personal space each, we each got an additional 25% more space up from 36 inches to 48 inches each! We used the extra space to make a common area. Once the other guys left, we improvised a couch and set up a TV in the front of the tent. It was a nice set-up.

Steve was a new pilot to the unit, he had finished training just before the war kicked off. At that point in his career, he had more Combat Flight Time than he did regular flight time. He did a great job and he quickly acclimated to the pacing and tactics that I wanted. I was ecstatic to have Richie as my Flight Engineer. Richie is an old school kind of Engineer, he had been flying at that point for almost 20 years and he literally knew everything about the airplane. His first pilot was Bill Grimes and when Billy went home, Scotty took over his crew. Bill and Scott were two of the best pilots in the Squadron. I was honored a couple of years later when Richie told me that there were only three pilots he wanted to go to war with; Billy, Scott and myself. That single compliment was worth more to me than any piece of medal that I ever received.

Money Man and I were the only two married guys on the crew. A couple of days after the other guys had left. Steve came into the tent upset. He had called home and his wife told him that he would be home in early September, but only for 35 days. After the 35 day break, he would be heading back over. His wife got an e-mail from a Sargent who worked for the Family Support Group. He was upset for several reasons mainly his wife was so emotional because he would not be coming home to stay, and we were he had never heard this from anyone else in the chain of command. It was an emotional time for all of us.

 

jerk 1

Me in my dress uniform.
Photo from yahoo.

 

I called home and asked if my wife had heard this, since she didn’t participate in the Family Support Group, she did not know about it. I asked KK if he knew anything about this rumor, and he did not have a clue. But KK did tell me that I needed to make a payment on my Air Force issued credit card. On the way over in March, I had to use it when we stayed one night in Lajes. I owed 60 dollars and the finance people back home didn’t like seeing my name on the needs to pay list. I told KK that I would pay it when I filled out my travel voucher. He said that we couldn’t put in a voucher until we got home and I tapped my nose and said exactly. He understood and let me slide for the moment, but he was not pleased with my in-subornation.

Unfortunately, for the Sergeant back home I had reached my breaking point. I totally broke and used my neophyte writing skills to craft a scathing rebuke. As I remember, I used words like irresponsible, inappropriate, difficult, front lines, non-deployment, warfighter, and support functions. I wrote about how it was not proper to spread rumors, how she was manipulating the heart strings of the families, and placing my crew in additional danger because Steve was not totally focused on the task at hand.

 

jerk 3

This is how I was at the time. I was consumed by hatred. It has taken 10 years to release enough of it before I realized how dark my soul was.
Photo from the 1984 movie Red Dawn.

 

Today, I feel horrible for losing control of my emotions. I usurped the chain of command by commenting directly to this lady. But more importantly, I was the person who was out of line, hateful, and inappropriate. My hate ran deep and wide. I made the unacceptable act of turning on someone who was trying to do her job. In many ways I was an American Taliban, my service to the country is greater than your service to the country therefore I must attack you. My job in the machine is more important than your job in the machine. In my mind, I thought I had earned the right to say anything I wanted and I felt justified to in my actions.

But at the time I did not care, I never apologized for the comments, and when I saw her several times after the war I refused to even speak to this person. I was wrong then and I have been wrong all of these years for not making things right.I am currently in the process of reaching out to this lady and repairing the damage that I did. I had repressed this memory since I left the Guard. Actually, it did not come back to me until this weekend. It would be very easy to not tell this story, easy to act like this short period never happened, but that would also be dishonest with myself and with the Sergeant. Since I know I was wrong and I claim to be a changed person. Then I feel like I have a duty to prove it with actions. I have the e-mail address of this lady and I will send her a hopefully more positive e-mail telling her I am sorry. I deserve and fully expect to get the reply “Up your nose with a rubber hose.”

 

jerk 4

Sending an hate filled e-mail. It is so easy that even a caveman can do it.
Photo from yahoo.

 

I made things tough on KK as well and it didn’t feel good to attack someone who was actually trying to help. But it happened and to our collective surprise, that young Sargent was the only one who was right. Yes, we were going to be home the first of September and Yes we would only be home for 35 days. By the way, my credit card was declined on the way home because I told my wife not to pay it. Maybe the finance folks were taking care of their friend and teaching me a lesson. When my card was declined, I told the person at the front desk to cut it up. I got in trouble for that too. I was a bitter guy, but I didn’t know I would have the chance to make a grand entrance when we came home. And yes, I got in trouble for that too.

Until next time, keep on rockin!

From → military

4 Comments
  1. In truth, the email, although in some ways emotionally justified, wasn’t worded in the most effective manner possible but you’re human and given the situation, I can’t fault you for that. Not speaking with her directly? That could have been handled differently, in my uninformed and objective opinion. But mistakes are how we learn, which I’m sure you’re well aware, and at least you’ve owned up to it and are attempting to set things right.

    Don’t beat yourself up too badly. We’re all flawed creatures, prone to making mistakes. and the truly enlightened of us learn the art of living amends.

    • Rhyan,

      Thank you for saying hi. By the way for all my writer friends, Rhyan has an absolutely amazing site about the craft of writing. I have learned so much and I thank you for sharing your wealth of knowledge.

      One of my character flaws is that I can hold a grudge. I am still upset about a guy named Joe Montana throwing a football to another guy named Dallas Clark in 1979. I was ten at the time and my kids already know that I still hold that grudge. It is hard to walk around angry all the time, and in the 2000s I was a angry person. I had many grudges, not just against this lady but against many people.

      I am striving to better man, better person, and a better father. I don’t disown anything I have ever done, and yes I am learning how to use things like this to turn into positives.

      In my writing, I have a character who is angry. Angry like I was except she has good reason to be angry. It is fun to write her and in many ways it helps to release the demons.

      Thank you again for dropping by, please make yourself at home. I promise to be a welcoming host, unless I get mad. Ha ha.

      • Thanks for the invite. I just might take you up on your offer, And cheers for the plug! It’s much appreciated (you pulled it off perfectly and I don’t think anyone suspects a thing! The check’s in the mail!)

  2. It would be cool if you can bring some fish and chips. I got the oil and vinegar.

Leave a Reply

Phoebe Morgan

Author and Editor

Mirror World Publishing

This world is only the beginning...

curtisbaussebooks

Mystery, Crime and a Woman

writers co-op

Writers helping writers. To follow this blog, click on the three white lines above.

Francis Bass

Writing, Reading, Etc.

Jones Culver

Writing, Publishing, Tearing Horror A New One

Sistership Publishing

"If your ship doesnt come in, swim out and get it." - Unknown

AuntieMaim.com

Littera Scripta Manet

The Worlds Of Fred Rayworth

Author Fred Rayworth's Web Site

A Writer at Heart

Trials and triumphs of writing, finding an agent, and publication.

Tokyo Cowboy

Random thoughts from a wannabe writer

Jay Alan

The Voice of Cleveland and Ultimate Sports Authority

Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Follow Your Yellow Brick Road

Just the 7 of Us

This is our story

Journey with Jewels

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else. -- C. S. Lewis

