Skip to content

Darkness…

July 20, 2013

Hey Ya’ll,

This week the poetry prompt is about darkness. Here is my submission. I hope you all are having a great weekend.

rob

Darkness

I dwell deep in the recesses of the night
I only venture in places that deny the light
I am found when you are exposed to fright
I abhor evil, I am the friend who will fight

I am more than a human being
I exist in dimensions that are unseen
I am uncontrolled even in dreams
I rule the night, I am sovereign over everything

I long for your friendship, compassion and more
I hate violence, blood and gore
I find refuge in the heart of emptiness and lore
I never hide, I am standing behind the door

In the black night I can be found
In the lonely skies I am the ground
In the tight chains I am unbound
In sadness, damnation, and anger I am always around

When you giggle, I cry
When you shriek, I cry
When you repudiate, I cry
When you receive, I cry

Liberty, death, moon, sun
Party, alone, sit, run
Sing, mope, raw, done
I love darkness, I am second to none

From → writing

8 Comments
  1. Karlene permalink

    Rob, this is wonderful. Now you have to tell me where this poem came from. You don’t have darkness is your life or mind. Please do tell.

  2. Karlene,

    You are so fast. I hardly had time to breath and you had read it and made a comment. In my future life, I want to be you because you are the best!

    I have to blame Abby Jones, author of the blog Worlds Before The Door. In a post that she wrote a couple weeks ago she wrote this sentence. “Grace, mercy, and forgiveness doesn’t apply to the good and righteous, but to the damned.”

    That single sentence has captivated me since I read it. This line was a shout out to Abby and her blog. “I never hide, I am standing behind the door.”

  3. Great poem. I felt the darkness of a moonless night, or a dark room. Darkness can be a powerful force. It can inhibit and it can hide.

    • Thanks for the wonderful comment. I feel like a fish out of water when I attempt poetry. I agree that darkness is powerful, but the point of the poem is that is where the ultimate force for good demands that we go as well.

  4. I love this theme – not everything of the dark is damned – some are redemption.

    Excellent effort, Rob, and keep writing 🙂

    Cheers,
    Eric

    • Thanks Eric,

      I am intrigued by good working in the darkness. My current work in progress is much like that, good people going to dark places to protect those who cant protect themselves.

      Thanks for the encouragement. By the way, when is the next 33 word fiction prompt coming out? I really enjoyed that.

  5. Donetta permalink

    Wow! Nice job.

  6. Thank you Donetta. I think you are just happy that I finally made the words rhyme.

Leave a Reply

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

Chartwell West

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

