Skip to content

Mobile TACAN…

June 28, 2013
qatar 8

Another day in paradise.

Hey Y’all,

June 2003, Al Udied AB, Qatar
Another day, another thirty five cents. That was how much per diem we earned while deployed. I know I shouldn’t complain about extra money, but it was tough to get fired up over the small amount of free money. I don’t remember the exact amount of per diem we got over there, but it was in that range. If anyone remembers exactly, please let us all know. The point is that life was going on in the world, but at The Died, it was Groundhog Day.

Scott, Gary and I finished our pre-mission planning which mostly consisted of sending an e-mail home, checking the limited internet, and trying to talk to scheduler into a good deal trip. There were no good deal trips to be had, so it was mostly joking around. Riding in the crew van out to the airplane, we passed an ambulance.

 

tacan 4

Never good thing to see.

 

We all looked at each other, hoping it wasn’t one of our guys. To our relief, Paul, Deron, and Tracy were sitting on the ramp waiting on us. The first leg of the day was to Balad, hauling a mobile TACAN. For the non-pilot’s out there, a TACAN is a Tactical Air Navigation System that is used by primarily the military to navigate and fly approaches. Basically, it is a radio station that transmits on certain frequencies. The instruments on the aircraft translate the radio waves into a distance to the station and a needle points to it.

 

tacan 2

big radio station.

 

When the war started, the fighter guys blew up everything in Iraq. One of the higher priority targets was the air navigational aids used by the Iraqi Air Force. The US military was operating on GPS and the idea was to deny the Iraqi’s the ability to navigate to and from their air bases. Now that the war was over, the US military was re-establishing the ability to navigate within the country using other than GPS as the primary navigation aid. It was one of the first steps to introduce civilian aviation service to the country. This particular TACAN was slated to be set up at Balad. The problem was that it had a technician with it and he was required to fly with it. I don’t know why, but it was not my place to ask. This guy, I don’t know his name, had slipped while loading it on the airplane. He knocked himself out and broke his jaw. He was in the ambulance that we passed.

Scott, Gary and I loaded out gear on the airplane and the entire crew rode back to Ops. Never turn down a chance to eat and access the internet. While my guys were connecting to the outside world, I was on the phone to the mission controller, better known as Maestro. This day, it was one of the guys from our unit, back home he was the Commander of the Command Post. His name is Dale G., he is retired now working for Ameriprise, and my financial advisor. Dale tells me that he will call me back so we wait and wait. Hours later, the phone rings. Go to the airplane, everything is ready and we are cleared to go. In the van, several hours into our twenty hour day that hasn’t started yet. The ambulance is at the airplane, waiting for us.

The currier who was responsible for the TACAN is waiting on us. His head is wrapped up like Daffy Duck and his mouth is wired shut. We talk to him for a brief moment, and it is apparent that he is in no condition to fly, let alone leave a relative safe place for a combat zone. At this time, Balad was only getting one or two mortars dropped on it a day. By August, it would be a couple an hour. I asked for a crew conference, my guys felt the same as I did. This guy should not be flying. We had no idea what the pressure change would do to him, he couldn’t open his mouth to vomit if he got airsick, and if he had to put on an oxygen mask we were not sure he would be able to breath.

 

tacan 3

Actual photo from Yahoo. Just like all the rest of these photos.

 

Now, I will give him credit. He was a tough old bird. A civilian contractor, he really wanted to go to Balad. I apologized to him, but he was upset that I wouldn’t take him. So, he climbs back into the ambulance and we go back in to talk to Maestro. Eventually, they off loaded the TACAN and we went off on the day hauling air around Iraq.

 

July 2003, Al Udied, Qatar
Scott Gary and I finished our pre-mission ritual and went to the airplane. Paul, Deron and Tracy were sitting on the ramp. This time there was another person sitting with them. I didn’t recognize the visitor until Deron introduced him. It was the civilian contractor who broke his jaw. He was healed up and ready to go, with his TACAN. We took him to Balad, and amazingly enough he wasn’t mad at us for not taking him a month earlier. He sat up front, we talked about whatever and two hours later we dropped him and the TACAN off.

 

tacan 1

Turn that thing on.

 

Early August 2003, 20 miles away from Balad, 0230 AM
By this time the crew had broken up. Scott had taken over the real Bill Rimes’ crew. Billy had to go home because his wife was having complications from her pregnancy. Everything turned out good by the way. Gary’s father passed away and he left to attend the funeral. Paul had been injured in Iraq, which is another story for another day. Deron, Tracy and I were the remaining crew from the Ol’ Number Six crew. I need to tell how we got our name as well. On this night we had a tactics Co-Pilot named Carlos, from our unit. A brand new Navigator, JR and a Flight Engineer from another unit. We were officially a rainbow crew, made up of spare parts.

 

We were making an NVG approach into Balad at 02:30 AM, when the tower made a strange request.

 

tacan 5

Just another night.

 

“J-go 20 say position from the field.”

Our call sign was J-go 20. It was my turn to fly and Carlos was working the radios. Carlos and I looked at each other. Carlos is a smart guy and knew better than to reply over the radio. Balad resides 35 miles north of Baghdad, smack in the center of the Sunni Triangle. It was not uncommon to have a missile fired at the aircraft while on approach. We would make three or four trips there per day and you could count on at least one missile shot at you. It was the hottest period of the mission accomplished phase. I told Carlos to say simply “Unable.” He did as I asked.

The tower guy was undeterred. “Say YOUR position!”

Carlos didn’t ask. “Unable, are we clear to land?”

“Clear to land!” He thought we were close to the runway.

“We will call you back.”

Ten minutes later Carlos spoke. “Does J-go 20 still have permission to land?”

The guy was fuming at this point. “I SAID J-GO 20 IS CLEARED TO LAND!”

We touched down about two seconds later. We knew we were cleared to land, but Carlos couldn’t resist in poking the bear. Before we slowed down to taxi, he was yelling at us on the radio. “I have helicopters working the area, I need to know the location of every aircraft in my airspace…blah blah blah.”

Carlos just asked if we could taxi to park. The tower guy went through the roof but gave us permission.

When the brakes were set, I called the tower. “Do you want to know why we are unable to tell you where we are?”

“Yes.”

“Because you don’t have any navigational aids operating. A month ago, I brought a mobile TACAN to this field. It is still not in operation. I can’t tell you where we are because I don’t know where we are.”

“That is bogus! You have GPS and internal navigation systems. You know where you are.”

“That is right. I do know where I am. But why in the world would I tell every bad guy listening in to the frequency? Besides you didn’t authenticate yourself, how do I know that you are not a bad guy trying to trick me into revealing my position? We have our TCAS operating, I see every helicopter within one hundred miles and they see us. It is your field, but my airplane. If we get blown up we will be dead, and I’m sure you will feel bad before you sleep in your bunk. Don’t ever ask for the position of an airplane on an open radio. If you are so worried about it, turn on your radar.”

 

tacan 6

We never had this many lights on in Iraq. No need to ask for a mortar.

 

I can laugh about it today, but at that moment I had enough of the war. I was ready to get home.

Have a nice weekend, and keep on rockin’!

From → military

9 Comments
  1. Oh the stories you tell. Do hope the broken jaw man healed quickly. Sounds painful. And what an exchange to land. Fascinating from this side of the computer screen.

    • I texted my friend Paul and told him I was writing about this guy. His reply “That was nasty.”

      I couldn’t believe the guy was asking where we were. I was in Bosnia once and the same thing happened. The controller had us turn the airplane to the right then back to the left. We thought, cool he is finding us on the radar. Then he announced our position on the radio. We couldn’t believe it, but never said anything. We should have I guess.

      There have been several exchanges like this and different over the years. Some really funny ones too. The controllers are people too and the radio can become a telephone from time to time.

  2. I wasn’t even there and I’m done with the war! Another amazing story. Sometimes when you poke a bear, it bites. But in there is never a better time to have fun when you’re done with it all. Thanks for a great post! So… do you know how much they pay perdiem today?

    • I am normally a non-confrontational kind of guy. Usually I am the good cop. But, I have a mouth on me that sometimes starts spouting out things that I wish it wouldn’t. I am getting better with age. Last week at the beach, my friend Jason and I went to see the Superman movie.

      There were two women at the snack counter, a guy and is girlfriend standing literally 15 feet behind them. So we went around them to get our snacks.

      The guy said. “Are you guys getting a drink?”

      “Yes.”

      “The line starts behind us.” While motioning with his thumb.

      We looked at each other and got behind them. His girlfriend started to walk off and he asked her if she wanted anything.

      My friend Jason is a big boy. He is about 6-2, 225 mid 40s and in good shape. He played small college football, and has kept his shape. I am not afraid about being beat up by the guy in front of us. After the guy asked his girlfriend what she wanted. I almost said “A new boyfriend.” But I pulled it back in before the second syllable.

      Later I told my wife about this event and she was proud of me for keeping my mouth shut. I am learnable.

  3. The tower guy actually asked you for “your” position? Where do they get these guys from?

    • That is okay. You can ask anything you want. It is up to the other person to grant your requests.

      During this time, the first of the rotations started so I would assume that he was a new guy. Maybe, maybe not. Don’t know and really don’t care.

      I do care that you said hi. Thanks.

  4. Interesting story. I will read it again. Thanks for everything!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Waiting on the call… | robakers

Leave a Reply

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

Chartwell West

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

