Skip to content

Follow up to last post…

April 27, 2013

we the people

 

Hey Y’all,

In the last post I said that I was going to contact my Senators. I did that on Thursday and I wanted to let you know what I said to them. I don’t know if there is a correlation, but Senator Graham has not been making any statements lately. Of course, he may be busy prepping his Chem Gear for an exercise.

If you notice, I added some new headings on the blog. I separated the posts into several categories for easier access. In the next post, I intend to update the blog and move onto more pleasant thoughts. I do want to thank everyone for all of the support over the past eight months. It has been so fun and I can’t wait to change the discussion to positive things. All photos from Yahoo.

 

 

Senator XXX

25 April, 2013

 

I have never written a letter to any elected official before, but I in all good conscience cannot stay silent any longer. I am a former West Virginia Guardsman serving as an Instructor Pilot in the 130th Airlift Squadron from 1995 to 2007. I deployed multiple times from 2003 to 2007 in support of the National Objectives in Iraq and Afghanistan.

I am very conflicted about the actions of one of your colleagues in the Senate. Senator Lindsey Graham from the great state of South Carolina has been very vocal about denying the Fifth Amendment rights to the man known as bomber #2. I am sure you are more familiar than I am about the statements made by Senator Graham.

I took an oath to preserve and protect the Constitution of the United States just as you did. I know that you are familiar with that oath and I believe that Senator Graham has forsaken the oath he took both as a US Senator and as a member of the United States Air Force Reserve. I have always understood that the Constitution and the Bill of Rights are to be taken in their entirety, not treated as suggestions or items that can be disregarded when it suits the needs of a person in power.

As disgusting as the individual known as bomber #2 is to me, he is an American citizen and as such he has earned the ability access all of the rights entitled to him by the Bill of Rights. I am satisfied with the President’s decision to legally treat bomber #2. My issue is that Senator Graham continues to insist that bomber #2 should be denied his rights. I believe that this is grounds for investigation into the legal status that Senator Graham has to make such inflammatory statements.

I believe that his dual-status as a Senator and as a Colonel in the Air Force Reserve is incompatible, and his continued comments are in fact a violation of the UCMJ. When I served, I was constantly reminded that I was not allowed to speak out against the elected officials of the United States. I understand that Senator Graham should be allowed greater latitude because of the fact that he is an elected official, but it is inconceivable to me that he can make statements from the Senate floor and on multiple media outlets that he would willfully deny an American citizen of their rights.

I am sending this exact e-mail to the office of Senator XXX and Senator Graham. Please encourage him to reconsider his position on his view that classifying an American citizen as an enemy combatant is reckless, immoral and illegal. His constant harping on this closed subject brings great discredit upon himself, his position as a leader on this great country, and the United States Air Force.

I am ashamed to feel compelled that I have to write this letter and illustrate the shame that Mr. Graham brings to the service which I proudly served. I gladly welcome any response to this communication and if I am in error in my position, I am willing to be educated on this matter. Thank you for consideration of my views and for any assistance you can give to Senator Graham will be greatly appreciated.

 

Robert Akers

xxxx ZZZZZZ YYYYY Rd

Culloden, WV 25510

304-617-xxxx

 

joe

 

This is the response from Senator Manchin. I know it is a auto-response type statement but it feels good and it feels like he is on the job.

“I have received your e-mail and look forward to responding to you soon. If you are a West Virginian, and need my immediate assistance with a personal matter, please don’t hesitate to call my office. If you call after-hours, please leave a detailed message, and a member of my staff will get back to you promptly. Thank you for contacting me, and please know that it is my great pleasure and honor to serve the people of West Virginia in the U.S. Senate.

Sincerely,

Joe Manchin III
US Senator”

 

jay

 

I did not get a auto response from Senator Rockefeller. I just got a message that he received the e-mail. I will let you know if/when I hear something from his office.

 

lindsey

 

I also sent the same e-mail to Senator Graham. I didn’t feel right about doing this unless I contacted him. Here is his auto-response.

“Thank you for taking the time to contact me. I appreciate the opportunity to hear from you.

Due to the large volume of mail I receive, I regret that I am only able to respond personally to inquiries from South Carolinians.

As we continue our work in the 113th Congress, I look forward to supporting our troops in the War on Terror, repairing our economy and creating jobs, strengthening Social Security, lowering the tax burden on American families, and making the federal government more accountable and efficient.

If your correspondence pertains to a scheduling request, please fax your request to (202) 224-3808.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Graham

Follow Senator Lindsey Graham

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/USSenatorLindseyGraham

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/GrahamBlog

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/USSenLindseyGraham”

 

 

I will not comment anymore about Mr. Graham. You can decide for yourself about his leadership abilities.

I feel better, I did my part and exercised my rights as a voter. Keep on rocking Y’all.

From → politics

6 Comments
  1. Excellent letter, Rob. You know, I was thinking of you when I wrote this article (http://mlswift.me/2013/04/22/writing-an-op-ed-article/), and this post is a superb example of why. Every post of yours has a great deal to say…a great deal to be passed along and brought before the masses.

    I think op-ed would be a wonderful outlet for you to do so. There are many newspapers, magazines, and websites out there that could use a man like you!

    • You know Mike, That I was reading that article thinking…

      “I wish I had something I left passionate about.” In the background Mr. Graham was being interviewed about the Boston Bombing.

      “Nothing is motivating me right now.” Mr. Graham kept on droning, blah, blah, blah.

      I started thinking :I wish someone would shut his pie hole. Maybe Mike will write something to teach this guy a lesson. Oh well, time for another doughnut.”

      Thanks for the inspiration. I enjoyed the article.

  2. Rob, good for you for gracefully, firmly, courageously and intelligently speaking up. Most opinion pieces end up making me squirm in their self-righteous assertions, but this did not. Your clear thought and humility made your letter carry more impact. Well done.

    • Thank you. I really appreciate that comment.

      My first draft was not as refined. My favorite line was. “The Senator is so gifted that he makes Lindsey Lohan look like a rocket surgeon. Or course if isn’t a fair comparison because contrary to popular belief, she actually had two brain cells to rub together.

  3. Rob,

    I ask you…what this letter had been this well-written if you had made it 2-3 years ago?

    • Big Joe,

      Just for you I climbed into the time machine are a peek. I was surprised that It was actually very well written. Here is a small sample.

      “There is a young Republican running for Strom Thurman’s vacant Senate seat in South Carolina. Lindsey Graham boasts of a career in the SC Guard. That is a great start but Mr. Graham is a JAG Lawyer. The problem is that he isn’t cool like the guy in the TV show JAG. He reminds me of the kid that was thrown on the top of the lockers in high school. The Mr. know it all, that usually ends up being wrong but it is never his fault. If elected I am sure the cool Senators will call him “Snap-On Graham” because he is a tool.”

      “When he dreams, it is about one day being the last entry on the TO CALL list as opposed to being the first entry on the DONT CALL list. I am always weary of those who insist on being right even when they are wrong. The favorite tactic is to yell louder that everyone else, and when they are wrong they beat on the desk. I think the only chance Mr. Graham has of being elected is to suddenly get activated for the entire election cycle. If he is out of the country laying waste to the salad bar in the chow hall tent, maybe he can fool enough people to get their vote.”

      Dang that was lucky that I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

The Worlds Of Fred Rayworth

Author Fred Rayworth's Web Site

Confessions of a Gay Guy

Musings from an anonymous, and slightly intoxicated, homosexual.

A Writer at Heart

Trials and triumphs of writing, finding an agent, and publication.

Tokyo Cowboy

Random thoughts from a wannabe writer

Jay Alan

The Voice of Cleveland and Ultimate Sports Authority

Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Follow Your Yellow Brick Road

Just the 7 of Us

This is our story

Journey with Jewels

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else. -- C. S. Lewis

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Clovis Whitman

Author of Coming of Age and New Adult Fiction

