Skip to content

Top 25 plus some…

January 31, 2013

metallica

Hey Y’all,

In the past two months, I have had some serious posts dealing with all kinds of serious things. Those who know me, know I am not a serious guy. I am more about laughter, love, and good vibrations, kind of like the Beach Boys. Several times in the last couple of month, my mom has asked if I was okay. Yes, she reads the blog, and yes she makes her comments off line. I have assured her that I am okay. I always want to be honest with you guys about who I am. I am not the serious kid that sits in the front of the class. I have always been kid who sits in the back of the class, is always goofing off and causing trouble for the teacher. Ha Ha.

I have views and opinions but I don’t necessarily like to voice them. But there are times when it is important to make the facts known and let the chips fall where they may. Today is one of those days. I was first introduced to Metallica in 1986. There was a new kid in my little Mayberry town form California. His name was Jason. Jason was a big boy who wore a frown that first day of school. His long red hair hung down to the middle of his back, and to make things worse he had a checkerboard pattern cut into both sides of his head. To the cliquish, closed system of Collierville, Tennessee; he was an outsider, dangerous and needed to be laughed at.

That afternoon, I was driving home with a couple of kids in the car. I saw Jason walking down the street. I pulled over and offered him a ride. We were listening to Motley Crue. I thought that I knew everything there was to know about hard rock. In front of Jason’s house, he asked if I liked this stuff. Of course I said yes. He said that I would pick him up in the morning, he had something that would blow my socks off. The next morning, he put Master of Puppets in my cassette tape. I was hooked and that began my life with a small band known as Metallica.

Since that day, I have seen them play five times. The first was on the Summer Sanitarium tour in Rockingham North Carolina. My brother Greg was with me, and for a 31 year old man it was a near religious experience. I saw them two more times on that tour, including the last time Jason Newsted played with then in Louisville, Kentucky. Later on, Greg and I saw them in Louisville, Kentucky on the St. Anger tour and again in Little Rock, Arkansas on the Death Magnetic tour.

One of my life goals is inspired by the movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High. In the movie, Jeff Spicoli saves Brook Shields from drowning. He spends the reward money by hiring Van Halen to play at his birthday party. I want to spend a small portion of the royalties from my SOG series to hire Metallica to play at my birthday party. Of course since I am playing them, they will have to use my playlist.

Here are my top 25 songs, plus another ten and some honorable mentions…enjoy!
1. One
2. Fuel
3. Creeping Death
4. The Day That Never Comes
5. For Whom the Bell Toils
6. Master of Puppets
7. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
8. Enter Sandman
9. Outlaw Torn
10. Cyanide
11. Some Kind of Monster
12. Harvester of Sorrow
13. Fade to Black
14. Until it Sleeps
15. Mercyful Fate (melody originally performed by Mercyful Fate)
16. That Was Just Your Life
17. Disposable Heroes
18. Call of Ktulu
19. My Friend Misery
20. Tuesday’s Gone (Originally performed by Lynyrd Skynyrd)
21. Seek and Destroy
22. Battery
23. Blackened
24. And Justice For All
25. So What (Originally performed by Anti-Nowhere League)

I cant stop there…

26. The Shortest Staw
27. The Thing That Should Not Be
28. Mama Said
29. Memory Remains
30. Frantic
31. All Nightmare Long
32. Am I Evil (Originally performed by Diamond Head)
33. The End of the Line
34. Bleeding Me
35. Unnamed Feeling

Honorable Mention

-To Live Is To Die
-Holier Than Thou
-Wherever I Roam
-Sad But True
-Hero of the Day
-Low Man Lyric
-All Within My Hands
-Stone Cold Crazy (Originally Performed by Queen)
-Turn the Page (Originally performed by Bob Seager)

I know that my list is not exclusive. It is open to dissection and to discussion. I believe that all Metallica songs have value and like bad sex and cold pizza, a song that didn’t make this list is still listened too when it comes up on the satellite radio.
I have some good friends who have their top 25 plus lists up on their sites. These are friends I have met through the world of blog and they accepted the challenge to pick their favorite Metallica songs.

Jason is a blogger from Philadelphia. He blogs about all things metal and sports. Hence, the title of his blog. http://metalandsports.wordpress.com/ I believe that Jason and I could be brothers from another mother. We both have a picture of Jerry Jones in our house. Mine is in the toilet, where I show him how I care for the way that the guided the Dallas Cowboys for the past 20 years. Jason puts Jerry’s picture on the mantle so that it reminds him how fortunate he is to not have Jerry as the owner of the Eagles.

Becca is a young lady from Scotland. Yes the other side of the pond, that Scotland. In her early 20s, she deals with the same things that all young people deal with. I love her attitude and honesty. When I was her age, I felt the same things she did but I dealt with it differently. I shoved my issues deep within and left them alone. Not the best way to deal with personal issues. I admire her for who she is and who she will become. This lady is on the path to a wonderful life and I only have excitement for her future. Her blog can be found here: http://metalandsports.wordpress.com/

If you find yourself motivated to create your own top 25 list, please post it here. I spoke to my brother Greg, and he is making a list to add to the comments. Keep on Rockin’ in the Free World!

From → life

11 Comments
  1. Awesome post. 🙂 I’m just about to post mine. ONLY thing is: that’s not the link to my blog! 😛

  2. Y’all,

    I made a horriable mistake. I posted the link to Jason’s blog under Becca’s name. Here is her link here:

    http://beccaplenderleith.wordpress.com/

    I am so sorry, Becca.

  3. Hey! Why don’t you check my hardcore version for Enter Sandman!? Here it is: http://onecutemanband.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/enter-sandman-metallica-hardcore-version/

    Cheers!

  4. Oh… you might not appreciate my list….
    * Part of your World… Little Mermaid.
    * Anything Jazz. Piano. Pop.
    * Taylor Swift
    * Jimmy Buffet
    * And my all time favorite… Come outside with me and Jason Mraz. My ultimate favorite. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3X-_JUy9lcA

  5. There is nothing wrong with that. You have a great life! It is a blessing to have done everything that you have done. It is impressive that you have much more to accomplish! Go Krlene!

  6. “One” was epic, helluva debut for Jason Newsted. When you listen to that one, there’s that triple-axe sound he and James will talk about occasionally. I’ve always been fond of “No Leaf Clover,” off of S&M. If the question was “How do you make Metallica louder and more powerful,” the answer was “You put Michael Kamen (who worked on the movie “The Wall” with Pink Floyd) in front of an orchestra and see which one plays faster.” It’s a toss-up.

    • I am a huge fan of S&M. I am not a huge fan of “Greatest Hits” but that was a great way to do one. I love that the first spoken word on S&M was almost 18 minutes into it. That word was “Yea!”

      Micahel Kamen did a great job of adding to the music, not just playing along. The orchestra added something to the music. That is really hard to do and they did great.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

The Worlds Of Fred Rayworth

Author Fred Rayworth's Web Site

Confessions of a Gay Guy

Musings from an anonymous, and slightly intoxicated, homosexual.

A Writer at Heart

Trials and triumphs of writing, finding an agent, and publication.

Tokyo Cowboy

Random thoughts from a wannabe writer

Jay Alan

The Voice of Cleveland and Ultimate Sports Authority

Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Follow Your Yellow Brick Road

Just the 7 of Us

This is our story

Journey with Jewels

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else. -- C. S. Lewis

Prismatic Prospects

Find hope and inspiration here. Books & More: Nadine C. Keels

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Clovis Whitman

Author of Coming of Age and New Adult Fiction

