Skip to content

Peace Sells but Who Is Buying?

October 29, 2012

Hey Ya’ll

Hope all is well out there in the world of the internet. I just spent the last hour watching the Weather Channel. Better said, I wasted an hour watching more about how New York is going to be wiped from the face of the Earth by the “Newest Most Perfect Storm.”  Is it too much to ask for some upper level wind charts, a satellite photo, a pressure chart and the data from the sonar buoys that have been dropped from the Hurricane Hunters?

One day there will be a real storm that is really dangerous. This still might be it but I don’t know because all the Weather Channel’s so called experts do is yell that the sky is falling and we are all going to die just like Chicken Little. I wish they would just give us the facts and live like a Bomb Disposal Technician. “If you see me running, try to keep up.”

If the City survives along with the real Bill Rimes, I will be making the journey to Central Park Friday night to watch him and his Bride join in Marriage. I just spoke to him and they are going to ride out the storm from their apartment in the steel canyon. Good luck to them! Updates as I have them.

On to more important things.

1. I found a wonderful blog and would like to introduce it to you guys. This is Gina and she is on a mission to do her part to make the world a better place. Her mission in life is give some love and comfort to deployed soldiers. In her words “I never thought about the Troops. Then one random event in 2009 changed everything. Inspired, I adopted a Soldier and that led me to help over 800 Troops. Here’s the good, bad, funny, sometimes heartbreaking and always honest story. Hoping to inspire others to care and maybe even put that care into action.”

Check out her blog and if you are so inspired adopt a soldier. There are still over 100,000 men and women in the Stans, Kuwait, Qutar and on every ocean in the world.  http://ginaleftthemall.com/

2. Donetta and I voted on Friday. I really don’t care who you vote for but I truly fell it is important to vote. More important than owning a gun, I think it is the most important right we have.

 

3. My sister-in-law made a comment a couple weeks ago which will lead us to the final point. She asked me what I really believe in. She honestly doesn’t know probably I use sarcasm to hide my true beliefs.  I do not try to be an enigma wrapped in a riddle and submerged in mystery but I guess that is how I am viewed.

To me, my position on everything makes perfect sense but I am sure they seem confusing until they are viewed in context. My political beliefs were shaped, molded and formed as a youth. In High School I decided that I wanted to run for School Government. I was not allowed to run because the administration did not think I would be a good President. They found a small rule about needing a 2.5 GPA to serve on the Student Council. I didn’t have it so I couldn’t run. Many of my Senior classmates wrote my name on their ballets and I was told later that I would have won the vote in a landslide.

I wasn’t allowed to run because of perception. The administration wanted someone who looked the part. They wanted someone who would not rock the boat and would be a good picture of student government. Symbolism over Substance. I had hair down past my shoulders, dressed like a slob, skipped school daily and listened to that devil music. I will say this nicely because I don’t want to be sued for slander, but I never smoked weed a day in my life or abused any other substances. I am not sure the guy who was Student Body President can say that.  As far as I know, he peaked in 1987, I havent peaked yet. I am not bitter, just stating the facts.

My mistrust of authority was manifested in the sands of Iraq and Afghanistan. When I returned in September 03 for my 35 days home, I am not complaining because I had a better deal than most who served over there. But when I returned, I needed a new driver’s license. The lady at the DMV asked what political party I wanted to register for. I was a Republican but I jumped at the chance to join the Democratic party. Because of my new understanding of the world of politics, I jumped ship mid-stream. I still firmly believe this today. I believe that a Democrat wants to mess up our country, but a Republican wants to mess up someone else’s country.  I don’t believe it is our responsibility to walk into another house, tear up the furniture, yell at the wife, beat the kids, make love to the dog and tell our neighbor to get his house in order. I trust and believe that 99% of the world’s population wants to live in peace. But 1% has evil intentions. I believe that the upper levels of the US government are full of the 1%.

Yesterday, I drove back to Memphis and as I listened to the XM Radio, they played one of the most influential songs of my youth. Peace Sells by Megadeth. Dave Mustaine was kicked out of Metallica because he drank too much. That is like the Democrats not taking money from George Soros because he is too radical.

Anyway, Dave Mustaine formed Megadeth and went on to become one of the most influential Thrash bands ever and a member of the Big 4; Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax and Megadeth. Megadeth is known for its distinctive, technical instrumental style that often features dense, intricate passages and for the recurring lyrical themes including politics, war, addiction, personal relationships, and religion. Mustaine is a very thoughtful writer and his words still ring true today. I will post the lyrics to Peace Sells and as you read, you I hope you will better understand who I am.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa_Cz7_bPuI

Peace Sells 1986

Songwriter: MUSTAINE, DAVE

 

What do you mean I don’t believe in God?
Talk to him every day
What do you mean I don’t support your system?
I go to court when I have to
What do you mean I can’t get to work on time?
Got nothing better to do
What do you mean I don’t pay my bills?
Why do you think I’m broke? Huh?

If there’s a new way
I’ll be the first in line
But, it better work this time

What do you mean I hurt your feelings?
I didn’t know you had any feelings
What do you mean I ain’t kind?
Just not your kind
What do you mean I couldn’t be President Of the United States of America?
Tell me something, it’s still ‘We the people’, right?

If there’s a new way
I’ll be the first in line
But, it better work this time

Can you put a price on peace?
Peace, peace sells, peace, peace sells
Peace sells, but who’s buying?

Peace sells, but who’s buying?
No, no, no, no, no!
Peace sells
Peace sells

 

From → politics

3 Comments
  1. Time to join the libertarian train then?

  2. Naw, I couldn’t figure out the Dewey decimal system. I think I keep my night job. Ha Ha.

  3. Thank you so much for the kind words and for helping me spread awareness. It really is amazing how even a small act can have a great impact for our deployed troops.

Leave a Reply

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

chartwell west

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

Proceeding Skeptically

Rambling about the Big Questions, life, and other stuff

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

The Race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. -2 Timothy 4:7

Omnibus Writing

The Future of the Arts...

Disagreements I Have With Christianity

Seeking A Healthy Critique And Renovation Of Religion And Culture

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Erica Lyn Hart

Christian Writer/Blogger

My Heart's Melodies

These words are the lyrics to my many heart songs.

