Skip to content

Hello world!

July 16, 2012

sometimes the only way to see is to look with a different perspective

 

Hello Everyone,

Like everyone else is the world, I am seeking a new challenge. Challenges are never easy and I begin this quest this fully aware that it is very possible that I will fail according to the world’s standard. To me failure is only failure if I fail to try. Meeting the challenge head on is my only goal and the only measure of success is my personal standard. That standard is consistent during the course of a life full of constant change in an ever changing universe.

All creatures find themselves somewhere on the evolution timeline. Each stage of life has a beginning, middle and end. I believe that we either evolve or wither. I choose evolution. In my life, I have had the distinct blessing to be somebody to someone. I am a Christian, Husband, Father, Son, Brother, Friend, Mentor and Student. Those titles will never change because some roles must remain rock solid to produce a life that is lived with integrity and honor.

Professionally it is time to for me to evolve. In my professional life, I have several hats which have culminated with reaching the pinnacle of the aviation career track, Captain. It a career that has blessed me, continues to bless me and one that I will not forsake. However, it is time to venture into uncharted territory. That territory for me is published author.  Long ago, I thought that I would like to write a novel like Tom Clancy and today, I am moving towards that goal. My brother, Greg and his wife Jeanine are my writing mentors. Their suggestion is simple and direct; WRITE!  Following their command, here I am.

This site will include short stories, articles for local publications, updates on my novel titled “SOG -The Book of Lot,” and anything else that needs to see the surface. Additionally, I will link several friends who inspire me to be a better person, author, or friend.  Please visit their sites and spread your encouragement to these fine people.

As you visit, please leave any comments in your wake. Like all humans, I love positive comments, but I am a big boy and if you have a critique or even a negative comment, please feel free to share. The only way to grow is to work hard and sometimes that work is harsh. I wish everyone who visits here find these three things in their lives: Faith, Hope and Love!

Rob Akers

From → writing

One Comment
  1. Julie Luekenga permalink

    Rob, I love that you have started this adventure. I feel that mixture of joy, anticipation, fear and panic. I’m right there with you. I gave up a 22 year career in higher education to pursue this dream, having know idea if I even really have the writing chops to see the vision to fruition. I’m cheering for you. You are a wonderful writer, and I know many of us at WD have been urging you to pull stories together for a novel. I will be here waving my pom-poms (sorry no short-skirt cheerleader outfit– I’m just too old ;)). Go Rob!

Leave a Reply

Screen Zealots

Fanatical About Film

Monster Mama

Mama · Wife · Author | Parenting with anxiety, one day at a time.

XP NUGGETS

Your daily source of positivity, motivation and inspiration: Available for you in a charming consumable nugget!

Apologia Pro Fide Sua

"Come then, Lord my God, teach my heart where and how to seek You." St. Anselm of Canterbury

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse | Cat Owner

D.E. Haggerty

Writer, Blogger, Book Addict

Novelarnia

One writer's journey to the magical land of publishing.

Old Man, New Pilot

Apparently you can teach an old dog new tricks

Head In The Clouds

ramblings and ravings from an archaeologist with far too much free time

pointmanactual.wordpress.com/

Grab a cup of coffee or glass of whiskey, and take a seat.

Chartwell West

The Blog of Sean Patrick Hughes

Rose Hill's Writing Grove

A Fantasy author in the Twin Cities

Writing Life

the infinite monkeys ... they need companions

The Captain's Blog

THE LIFE AND JOURNEY'S OF A CORPORATE PILOT

Dan Roach Author

Writer of humorous (probably) flying stories

